Adding Components to a Workspace
The components resident to any given workspace can be added by either:
- The Manage Workspace dialog, see below.
- Loading a component asset (.mbwidget).
- Sharing a workspaces between ACLs. See the Using Workspaces article for more information. See Sharing Components Between Workspaces section.
When new components are added, they typically appear in the left-hand layout zone, and shared ones appear in the bottom layout zone. components can be moved from these initial locations.
See Manage Workspace Dialog for information on the Manage Workspace dialog.
Adding Components via the Manage Workspace Dialog
In the component sections of the Manage Workspace dialog, components may be added to the current workspace by clicking the "Add" button under each component section.
- Single-instance components: Workspaces may contain only a single instance of this type of component.
- These components will display a "Remove" button under a component's entrywhen on the current workspace. Clicking this button will remove the component form the current workspace.
- Multi-instance components: Workspaces may contain any number of this type of component.
- These components will display a count indicator to the right of the "Add" button.
- Note: Removing multi-instance components cannot be done in the Manage Workspace dialog.
Loading a Component Asset
A component's current state may be saved to a component asset that allows the component to be copied onto other workspaces. Components added via this method are are not "linked" or "shared", but separate instances of a component.
- Enter admin mode.
- Open the configuration dialog for a given component.
- Expand the "Share component with other workspaces" section
- Click the "Export component to asset" button.
- The asset (.mbwidget)will be downloaded to the administrator's desktop.
- Upload the .mbwidget asset into MediaBeacon.
- Right-click the asset and choose "Load Component"
- Component is added to the current workspace.
Note: If the component being loaded is a single-instance component, and the current workspace contains one of that class of component, it will not be added.
Sharing Components Between Workspaces
Components can be shared across different workspaces, similar to the way that workspaces are shared across ACLs. In this state, known as "component linking" the settings of the shared component is the same on every workspace on which it appears.
A component is shared in the "Share component with other workspaces" section of its configuration dialog (accessible via the gear icon displayed on each component in admin mode.)
- Checked box, Gray text: The component is resident to this workspace.
- Checked box, Black text: The component is currently shared with this workspace.
- No check, Gray text: This component may not be shared with this workspace. This is due to another instance of a single-instance component being resident on that workspace.
- No check, Black text: The component is not currently shared with this workspace.
Component Linking and Component ID
When the "Preserve Component Links" option is used to duplicate workspaces, all components on the new workspace are linked to the ones on the old workspace.
The mechanism that controls this the "Component ID", which can be seen in the "View Preferences" section of a component's configuration dialog.
The Component Linking function is discussed in detail in the [Managing Components] section, but to summarize this feature: Component linking allows components with identical "Component IDs" to share the same configuration.
Custom Component ID
The Component ID can be altered to a set string, maintaining this ID if the workspace is exported and shared. A locked padlock icon indicates the ID is stable.
This feature cannot be used to "sync" a component with a pre-existing custom ID. If the administrator enters an already used ID, a dialog is displayed that says "Cannot set the component id to that value. That value is already used with another component."
Removing Components from a Workspace
When components are removed, they will be permanently deleted unless they are shared with another workspace, or have been saved as a .mbwidget asset.
Components may be removed from workspaces in a variety of ways
- When viewing a workspace in admin mode, clicking the "X" button in a component's title bar.
- A toast notification will appear to inform the admin that the component has been removed, which also presents an "Undo" button.
- This gives the admin 10 seconds to revert that change, after which the component is permanently removed.
- Unchecking a component in the "Share component with other workspaces" section.
- This removes components on other workspaces.
The layout area of each workspace allows components to be placed into discrete regions, called layout zones. In admin mode, these are indicated by a darker background and a gear icon in the upper left corner.
Most components can be placed in any layout zone, and will expand or contract to fit the width of their containing zones. Some exceptions to free layout zone placement are:
- Some components have a "Menu Bar Mode", that fix their positions to preset areas on the page:
- Quick Search
- Search Status
- View components may only reside in a special "view component zone". However, other types of components may be placed above, below, or between them in this zone.
- This is usually the center middle zone in any given layout, but other layouts may have a different location for the view component zone.
Components can be moved, while the user is in Admin mode, by click-dragging the title bar of the component.
- The body of the components in the current layout zone will snap closed.
- The title bar of the dragged component will become transparent during the drag.
- While in this state, the component may be moved to another layout zone or rearranged with respect to other components in the current layout zone.
- The new position indicated by a blue outline. When the user releases the mouse button, the component will be placed in the blue outline and the body of components will again be shown.
Layout Zone Settings
Layout zones themselves have settings that affect the look and visibility of components. The Layout Zone Settings dialog is displayed when the gear icon in the upper right of a layout zone is clicked.
- Background Color
- The controls the background color of the layout zone, which is normally transparent.
- Toggleable Components
- This option lists the current components contained in the layout zone with a checkbox for each. When checked, only one "toggleable" component can be viewed at a given time in a workspace.
- Clicking a closed title bar will collapse the title bars of other toggleable components and open the clicked component.
- Clicking the title bar of an open, toggleable component will collapse the clicked component, other toggleable components remaining unchanged.
- Note the toggleable option is not available for View components, as they have an auto-toggling feature shared between other view components.
In 2019.1, the "toggleable" setting will override a non-View component's "Hide Component Title" setting, hiding it in the Configuration dialog.
The "toggleable" setting is per layout zone, and setting a component to toggleable in one zone does not make is toggleable by default when moved.