Skip to main content
MediaBeacon University

Users

Adding, editing and deleting of user accounts.

Users Tab

This page is available to Group and Global Administrators and allows adding, editing and deleting of users. The initial view lists all users managed by the administrator.

Type, State, City and Zip pulldowns enable filtering based on selected criteria.

Users_Tab.png

Type

There are three types of users:

  1. General Users are standard MediaBeacon users.
  2. Group Administrators can edit and delete general users in their group, edit Name Mappings, and Fields, depending on configuration.
  3. Global Administrators can create, edit and delete users, groups, and group administrators. The number of Global Administrators should be kept to a minimum and the ideal scenario would be a single Global Administrator.

Status

Is a quick way to control access to MediaBeacon without deleting users. If the status is listed as Active, then the user is able to log in at will. If the status is listed as Locked, the user cannot access MediaBeacon. The Status functionality is meant for a quick way for the MediaBeacon administrator to control access without deleting and adding user accounts.

New User

This button will open a new window where administrators can create new users and alter their privileges, browse directories, and contact information.

Delete

The button to delete the user is located on the top right-hand side of the individual user page.

There is a warning page before the user is permanently deleted.

Username

This is the name that a user will use to log in to MediaBeacon.

Password

User’s current password. For security reasons it is not viewable.

If a guest user needs to have the password changed, administrators can assign a temporary password and then the user can change the password after they log in with the permanent password. Check “Change password upon next login” to do this.

Save

This button submits the changes made to this user to make them permanent.

Copy

This button will copy the current user. This functionality allows quick creation of a new user based on an existing user’s profile.

Cancel

Any changes made to the user will not be made permanent and the original settings will remain.

Active/Locked

This radio button changes the status of a user. A locked user will not have access to that MediaBeacon server. It also allows administrators to temporarily disable a user’s access without having to delete the user.

Users_1.png

Group

MediaBeacon employs the concept of delegated administration. This section allows MediaBeacon administrators to assign groups to users and set their authority in those groups.

Group Assignment

In this section, there is a pulldown, showing a list of groups to which a user may be assigned. This is additive with the multi-select panel in Group Membership (see below). If a user will a member of only one group, assign that group here.

User Level

Users are assigned one of the below level, to determine their basic role in the system.

  • General Users are typical users in MediaBeacon.
  • Group Administrators are created by Global Administrators to hand off some or all end user management and maintenance. Group Administrators can edit General Users that are in the same group and Name Mappings. If Edit Field Configuration is checked, they can also edit fields.
  • Global Administrators are root users in MediaBeacon and have very powerful permission sets by default. These super users can create groups and users all over the MediaBeacon server.

Group Membership

This multi-select box allows administrators to assign users to additional groups, on top of the one selected under "Group". This interface allows multiple selections, on a Windows-based browser this is done by control-clicking group names, and on a macOS-based browser command-click is used.

Apart from having access to all the ACLs of all the groups of which they are members, multi-group users have access to saved selections across all the groups to which they have membership.

 

Invite Users

MediaBeacon allows administrators to create invitations to specific ACLs and share them with users. The system can automatically generate a master token that can be used by a group of users to create their own accounts on-the-fly. Clicking Invite Users will bring up a new configuration window. See below.

An invitation can be given a unique name and an arbitrary user count. For instance, if you would like to invite 50 users from Marketing Department, you would enter 50 in the Invitation Count space.

Then, you can specify what ACL will be presented to these users. Note that you can assign multiple ACLs with unique permissions.

image151.png

When you click Save, you will be presented with a popup window displaying an Activation Code and the count of blank user accounts that has been pre-created.

Activation_Code.png

When users try to log in with this activation code, they will be required to create their accounts on-the-fly.

  • Was this article helpful?